My 5 star books · Sherlock Holmes

A Study In Scarlet

A Study In Scarlet, by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
Published: 1887
Genre: Mystery, Detective Fiction

-”Populus me sibilat, at mihi plaudo Ipse domi simul ac nummos contemplar in arca.”-

It wasn’t long after I first read The Strange Case of Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde, all those years ago, that I decided to read the Sherlock Holmes stories. I quickly fell in love with them but found it very difficult to find old or modern adaptations, for instance in film, that I thought suited the characters. I hadn’t read them in a while so I decided to go back to the beginning and share my thoughts about them.

The words have a smooth flow which makes it nice to read and there are a lot of interesting pieces of information. Such as the various medical accounts that are described.

I remember so clearly when, as a reader, I got introduced to Sherlock. The way he acted made me smile, he “sprang to his feet” and ran towards them with a test-tube in his hand. Personally, he is a very fun character.
All included characters balance out the story and each other.

It is a short read, but not rushed or slow paced. The writing is detailed, but understandable and it is quick to capture my attention. In John Watson’s words, it was “so impressive that we had sat silent and absorbed.” I also like the detail in the backstory of the culprit, it isn’t just glossed over, it is a full account. The chapters of part two are well written in terms of the emotion, especially in the chapter titled ; The Avenging Angels.


Quotes I liked ;

“Don’t be mealy-mouthed about it” – John Watson

“It is of the highest importance, therefore, not to have useless facts elbowing out the useful ones.” – Sherlock Holmes

“One’s ideas must be as broad as Nature if they are to interpret Nature.” – Sherlock Holmes

“Where there is no imagination there is no horror.” – Sherlock Holmes


Personal rating (out of 5): ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
The characters are fun and after all this time, I still love the stories. When solving the case, it feels as though I am in the book with them and I can feel the strong emotions in relation to some of the later chapters. It is a nice feeling when the characters balance each other out or when the details are enough to keep me hooked on reading. For me, the Sherlock Holmes stories are my comfort.


The author: Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
A writer and physician. Other than his Sherlock Holmes stories, he also wrote books such as : The Mystery Of Cloomber, The White Company, The Lost World, and more.


Have you read any Sherlock Holmes books before? Or perhaps you have a favourite film based on him? Who is your favourite character?
I would love to know your opinions!
I wish you well,
Dinah Mildreth-Bishop

Leave a comment